God and Unemployment

‘When I began my research interviewing unemployed and underemployed Southern Californians in 2011, I did not expect that their religious views would turn out to be so important. Previous studies of unemployed Americans have scarcely commented on their spirituality. But over and over I heard my interviewees say, as an unemployed IT worker put it, “I believe in God. So I do believe that He has a plan for me and I leave it in His hands.”’

…lovely brief anthropological description of Christian spirituality and unemployment in the contemporary USA – Unemployment and Divine Plans, by Claudia Strauss, professor of anthropology at Pitzer College, Los Angeles.

Leave a Reply

