So what is mathematics about? (aka avoiding blogging about my fieldwork)

While I’m doing my fieldwork (interviewing mathematicians and computer scientists!), and far too busy to actually write about how it is going (urgently need sleep! Too into the process to decide what I can publicly write about, and what I can’t!), I’m going to be spamming with mathematical readings instead… sneaky plan, eh? So here is a nice and very readable article discussing ” what mathematics is actually about”. I think it explains the complicated notions of nominalism. Platonism and Aristotelian realism pretty well: http://aeon.co/magazine/world-views/what-is-left-for-mathematics-to-be-about/

Leave a Reply

