Simplistic, but quite to the point…

“I’ve never been female, but I’ve been black all my life and so let me perhaps offer some insight from that perspective. I got to see how the world around me reacted to my expressions of these ambitions. All I can say that is the fact that I wanted to be a scientist, an astrophysicist was, hands-down, the path of most resistance through the forces of society. … Now here I am, I think, one of the most visible scientists in the land. And I look behind me and I say, ‘Where are the others who might have been this?’ And they’re not there. And I wonder: Where is the blood on the tracks that I happened to survive that others did not simply because of the forces of society that prevent it at every turn?”
Those questions are proving to be as difficult to resolve as any in physics.” Astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson

What’s it about women and science?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

