Why are mathematical research jobs stressful?

Here is an article in the Guardian about the stresses of academic research, written by a postdoc in pure mathematics. Having spoken to quite a few early career mathematicians, I think it’s pretty spot on… Has that been your experience?

I am a postdoc pure mathematician. I’m paid to do something I love. I don’t have to be in at nine, and I don’t have to wear a tie. Often I don’t have to be in at all, and on these occasions I don’t have to wear anything. No pushy managers above me, no responsibility for juniors below me. But I drink too much, haven’t had a good night’s sleep since last year and my diaries refer regularly to depression since I began myPhD. Why?

Leave a Reply

