You and your research

One of the best things I have ever read about research. An honest, straight-forward, down-to-earth and inspiring text.

Richard Hamming

“You and Your Research”

Transcription of the
Bell Communications Research Colloquium Seminar
7 March 1986

It’s a pleasure to be here. I doubt if I can live up to the Introduction. The title of my talk is, “You and Your Research.” It is not about managing research, it is about how you individually do your research. I could give a talk on the other subject – but it’s not, it’s about you. I’m not talking about ordinary run-of-the-mill research; I’m talking about great research. And for the sake of describing great research I’ll occasionally say Nobel-Prize type of work. It doesn’t have to gain the Nobel Prize, but I mean those kinds of things which we perceive are significant things. Relativity, if you want, Shannon’s information theory, any number of outstanding theories – that’s the kind of thing I’m talking about.

Now, how did I come to do this study? …

Read the rest here  (courtesy Gabriel Robins, professor of computer science at Virginia University)

.

Leave a Reply

